Review: The Unthinkable

The Unthinkable
The Unthinkable by Monica McCarty
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love the Highland Guard series by Monica McCarty, so this surprise find was an auto buy for me.

Despite the mixed reviews this book has received, I was disappointed. The story had a number of unexpected twists that had me invested in following through so I could learn the fate of the star crossed lovers, who were both multi-layered and complex….and both stubborn and loyal to their loves ones, at times for the wrong reasons.

Both protagonists made many mistakes and paid the price for them. Definitely not your typical hero and heroine,although I think some of the heartaches could have been avoided if they had both communicated with each other. As usual, Ms McCarty wrote such strong emotions into their characters and story, I was drawn completely. Of course, under her masterful skills, the love scenes were scorchingly passionate and poignant.

Another highly enjoyable historical romance I’m proud to add to my digital library.

View all my reviews

