Review: Taming the Rake

Taming the Rake
Taming the Rake by Monica McCarty
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

For me, Monica McCarty has become a favorite for all things Scottish – strapping men in kilts up for all kinds of secret dangerous missions, slaying enemies and hearts with their unswerving passion in and out of the battle field. And such great characterization!

This book is a refreshing change in that it takes place in Regency England among the ton. I was intrigued by the secret club of rake tamers that three young ladies decided to form in an effort to teach the worst behaving rakes I the society, who are members of the Hellfire Club, a lesson in love.

By making the unsuspecting scoundrels fall in love with the lady founders, declaring their love, wrangling a marriage proposal and avenging all the ladies by turning them down.

This is where the fun and games begin, of course. For Gina, the heroine in this book, who has to tame Coventry, didn’t count on falling in love. So, does she go forth with her plans to ruin and take him? Or is there a happy ever after for a rake and a reformer?

I was highly entertained especially when the protagonists enter into wagers that puts them in increasingly compromising situations. The subplots, the missions of the other two ladies, are just intriguing, and I’m definitely looking forward to their books.

View all my reviews

