Review: Archangel’s Shadows

Archangel's Shadows
Archangel’s Shadows by Nalini Singh
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I don’t think I’ve read a book by Nalini Singh that I don’t enjoy, and this 7th instalment in the Guild Hunter series is no exception.

As usual, the universe of angels, archangels and vampires that she’s build kept me enthralled from the first page to last. This book sees Janvier and Ashwini, a couple who’s been dancing around their attraction towards each other, tasked with hunting down the killer of a girl found in a dumpster, her dessicated body bearing mysterious, brutal bite marks, which sparked off suspicions of the evil Archangel Lijuan returning to wreck more havoc.

Their investigation brings to light a new “designer” drug Umber that is rumoured to have a potent and possibly dangerous effect on vampires. And that may be connected to the case.

As their investigation brings Ashwini and Janvier closer for the first time since Ashwini’s injury during the recent battle, Janvier realized the depths of his feelings for Ashwini, who resists getting more involved for reasons from her past.

Against the backdrop of this investigation, Elena got her feet wet organizing a block party that’s meant to demonstrate the resilience and strength of New York. I of course love getting glimpses of “Bluebell” and the other characters. Overall, it was a nice return to familiar world, and I can’t wait to dive into the next one.

View all my reviews

