Review: You're the One That I (Don'T) Want by Alexandra Potter

I first came to know Ms Potter through her chick-lit romance, Mr Darcy and Me, which was sharply written and laugh-out-loud funny, and left me with a general good overall impression of her work. So, when I stumbled across this work of hers in a book store while waiting for my flight in the airport, I didn’t hesitate. So, here’s a quick review of this book which I read much earlier on this year, another entry for the Twenty-Eleven Challenge.

youre-the-one


Title:
You’re the One That I (Don’T) Want

Author: Alexandra Potter

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton (Hachette Livre UK)

Year Published: 2010

Stand alone or series: Stand alone

On the Back cover:

How do you know he’s The One?

Are you getting butterflies just thinking about him?

Have you dreamt of marrying him?

Do you just know?

When Lucy meets Nate in Venice, she knows instantly he’s The One. And, caught up in the whirlwind of first love, they kiss under the Bridge of Sighs at sunset. Which – according to legend – will tie them together forever.

But ten years later, they’ve completely lost contact. That is, until Lucy moves to New York and the legend brings them back together. Again. And again. And again.

But what if Nate isn’t The One? How is she going to get rid of him? Because forever could be a very long time…

A funny, magical romantic comedy about how finding The One doesn’t always have to mean happily ever after.

In my books …

Well, I’m not sure if the legend of the Bridge of Sighs was real, but Ms Potter had me sighing and laughing by turns at the sappy, happy, humorous and altogether enjoyable story. Lucy is someone we can all relate too … tha hang-ups about appearance, attractiveness to the opposite sex, the anxiety over choosing one’s true love, and the fear of making a big mistake.

Luckily she’s not allowed to end up unhappily with the wrong guy, and the ending was indeed all sorts of comically romantic, in Venice no less, and fuzzy warm. Definitely a pick-me-up book that’s bound to brighten up gloomy days for me. And I’m not alone in that opinion. Read what others have to say.

IMB Rating: 3.0, Liked it

