2010 Round-up Review part 1: Petite Anglaise, Mischief, Playing with Fire and How to Tame A Modern Rogue

It’s a new year, and as I’ve been delinquent in my posts for last couple of months, I’m doing a couple of roundup reviews of books read in 2010.  Hopefully, that’ll help me start off with a clean slate sooner in the new year.

Without further ado, here’s the roundup review post of standalone books read in the 2010:

Title: How to Tame a Modern Rogue

2010 Round-up Review part 1: Petite Anglaise, Mischief, Playing with Fire and How to Tame A Modern Rogue

Author: Diana Holquist

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Forever

Year Published: 2009

Stand alone or series: stand alone

Why I read it: I had to pick a new-to-me author for two reading challenges, and since this author is new to me, her book fit right in.

On the Back cover:

Commitment-phobic Sam Carson has only dated model-gorgeous women. But one stolen kiss from a plain-Jane schoolteacher and he’s hell-bent on stripping away her floral dresses and teaching her the art of being bad. If only her good-girl ways didn’t make him want to be a better man…

Ally Giordano is at the end of her rope. Her beloved grandmother actually believes that she’s living in her favorite romance novel in Regency England and Ally doesn’t have the heart to set her straight. But now Granny Donny’s last wish is for a retreat to the country and Ally can’t refuse her…until she demands that Sam accompany them. And though his smiles turn her knees into jelly, Ally knows better than to trust a playboy…and she definitely knows better than to try to change one. Or does she?

In my books …

A laugh-out-funny romance that’s big on the humour factor, and an endearing heroine who’s not afraid to make a fool of herself.  A light-hearted, and enjoyable read.

IMB Rating: 3.0, liked it


Title: Petite Anglaise

2010 Round-up Review part 1: Petite Anglaise, Mischief, Playing with Fire and How to Tame A Modern RogueAuthor: Catherine Sanderson

Genre: Contemporary, true-life romance

Publisher: Penguin

Year Published: 2009

Stand alone or series: Standalone

Why I read it: I’ve picked this up as part of the reading challenges for 2010, again for a new-to-me author, although I’ve heard of Petite Anglaise, the blogger, before her identity was revealed with the publication of her memoirs

On the Back cover:

Living in Paris with her partner, the workaholic Mr Frog, and their adorable toddler, Tadpole, Catherine decides to alleviate the boredom of her metro-boulot-dodo routine by starting a blog under the name of Petite Anglaise. As she lays herself bare about the confines of her stagnant relationship with Mr Frog, about Paris life and about the wonder and pain that comes with being a mother, she finds a new purpose to her day. As Petite Anglaise, Catherine regains her confidence and makes internet friends, including one charismatic and single Englishman who lives in Brittany, James. And after meeting James one evening in a bar, Catherine feels she has regained her ability to fall in love, too.

Petite Anglaise weaves together many strands which have already struck a chord with the thousands of readers who love her blog: a “fish out of water” perspective of Paris life, the raw emotional drama of a whirlwind, adulterous romance and an honest appreciation of the hardships of single motherhood.

In my books …

I had no expectations about the way the author would describe Paris, and life in the City of Lights. I knew this book is more of a self-discovery and a woman’s journey to finding love, so I wasn’t too disappointed like other readers were about the story being centred on the author’s life.  I mean, this is a memoir/ true life account of sorts.

Overall though, Ms Andersen’s writing is self-deprecatingly funny, wry at parts and poignant in others.  It’s a great first debut and I hope she ventures on to other genre of writing.

IMB Rating: 3.0, liked it


Title: Mischief

2010 Round-up Review part 1: Petite Anglaise, Mischief, Playing with Fire and How to Tame A Modern RogueAuthor: Amanda Quick

Genre: Regency Romance

Publisher: Bantam

Year Published: 1997

Stand alone or series: Standalone

Why I read it:
I’ve enjoyed various books by Amanda Quick over the years, so this was one of those books which I thought I’ve not read, but after flipping though two chapters, realized that I did. Anyway, I settled in and finished it just to pass the time.

On the Back cover:

Imogen Waterstone needed a man, and not just any man: one with an implacable will and nerves of iron. That’s why she invited Matthias Marshall, the Earl of Colchester, to her home. For who better than the legendary explorer to help her lure a ruthless enemy to ruin. Yet when Imogen urges Matthias to masquerade as her spellbound suitor – and let it be known that she possesses a priceless treasure map – she never anticipates his electrifying response – or her own. Suddenly, the unconventional lady is in the thrall of true passion…and vulnerable to a malevolent threat that emerges from the labyrinth of London society.

In my books …

Let’s just say she’s written better books than this one.  I would have enjoyed it more if the characters were developed further. There is a certain lack of depth that her other books were endowed with.

IMB Rating: 2.5, didn’t really like it

Title: The Pleasure Slave

2010 Round-up Review part 1: Petite Anglaise, Mischief, Playing with Fire and How to Tame A Modern RogueAuthor: Gena Showalter

Genre: Paranormal Fantasy

Publisher: HQN Books

Year Published: 2005

Stand alone or series: Standalone

Why I read it: the description on the back cover sounded intriguing

On the Back cover:

When Santa Fe antique dealer Julie Anderson was curiously drawn to purchase a battered jewelry box, she never expected it to contain her own personal love slave. Especially not tall, dark and sinfully handsome Tristan-a man hard to resist, and determined to fulfill her every desire.

Though Tristan was a rogue of the battlefield and the boudoir, making love with Julia was like nothing he’d ever known. Yet revealing his true heart would break the centuries-old spell and separate them forever. And Tristan would do anything to go on loving Julia. . .even remain a slave through all eternity. . .

In my books …
Well, having read her Lords of the Underworld series, this book pales in comparison to the incredibly sexy, funny and gripping writing, and the engrossing LOTU universe I associate with Ms Showalter. Read this only if you’re looking to kill some time, and care not whether you enjoy the process.

IMB Rating: 2.5, didn’t really like it


Title: Playing with Fire (Tales of an Extraordinary Girl, Book 1)

2010 Round-up Review part 1: Petite Anglaise, Mischief, Playing with Fire and How to Tame A Modern RogueAuthor: Gena Showalter

Genre: Paranormal Fantasy

Publisher: HQN Books

Year Published: 2006

Stand alone or series: Part of the Tales of an Extraordinary Girl series.

Why I read it: the description on the back cover sounded promising

On the Back cover:

Earth, Wind & Fire aren’t just a band anymore . . .

Used to be my greatest achievement was holding a job more than three days. Now suddenly I can shoot fireballs, chill your drink, or blow-dry your hair at fifty paces with a blink of my eye!

It all started when this crazy scientist dropped something in my Grande Mocha Latte. Of course I got wicked sick. Next morning I’m waking up with this total hottie bending over me. He tells me 1) his name’s Rome Masters, 2) he’s a government agent and 3) I can control the four elements with a thought.

He seems even less pleased by my (apparently irreversible) transformation than I am . . . Because now he’ll have to kill me.

In my books …

This was better written than the above book.  Written in first person, this book sports the trademark humour, heroine with kick-ass attitude, and the author’s fantastical flights of imagination given free rein. Enjoyed the fast-paced action and sizzling romance bits. Never a dull moment.

IMB Rating: 3.0, liked it

