Book Review: Archangel’s Kiss by Nalini Singh

I read this book in June, and have since reread it and the series debut at least twice between then and now.  I’m not sure if you can label me as a fangirl, but one thing’s for sure: Nalini sure can create unforgettable characters and stories.

Stocking StuffersTitle:Archangel’s Kiss (Guild Hunter)

Author: Nalini Singh

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Publisher: Berkeley

Year Published: February 2010

Stand alone or series: Book 2 in the Guild Hunter series

Why I read it:

Having read and enjoyed the series debut, I couldn’t wait to pounce on this book when it became available in stores

On the Back cover:

Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux wakes from a year-long coma to find that she has become an angel-and that her lover, the stunningly dangerous archangel Raphael, likes having her under his control. But almost immediately, Raphael must ready Elena for a flight to Beijing, to attend a ball thrown by the archangel Lijuan. Ancient and without conscience, Lijuan’s power lies with the dead. And she has organized the most perfect and most vicious of welcomes for Elena…

In my books …

In one word … WOW!  Ms Singh blew me away with this follow-up, and not only did she meet every expectation, she exceeded them.

The story arc, pacing, conflicts, struggles, emotions and political intrigue of the immortal world Elena has been plunged into, now that she’s been made an angel, are so finely textured, poignantly articulated and eloquently expressed, that I simply couldn’t put it down once I started reading it.

I’ve reread this instalment and the debut again between June and now at least twice, and the story with all its thrilling battle action, and mind blowing imagination still continues to take my breath away. I’m already looking forward to the next instalment.

Favourite Quotes/Parts:
This is a challenge, because I would have to end up quoting whole chapters, and I’m not sure if that’ll violate any copyright laws, so you’ll just have to read the book itself.

I love the chapter when Elena ‘studied’ with the angle kids in little immortal school, the parts where she was learning to fly, and then there were some glimpses of the tender and slightly human side of Raphael that makes you think he is not as cold as he seems to be.

Then, there was the final 5 chapters when the confrontation with the abominations that Lijuan created explodes in to a terrific battle to vanquish the evil archangel.

IMB Rating: 5.0, I loved it

I’m not alone in my admiration, check out the reviews by The Good, The Bad and The Unread, as well as The Book Smugglers.

One thought on “Book Review: Archangel’s Kiss by Nalini Singh

Comments are closed.