Book Review: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

The reason for the silence … my hard disk crashed.  To cut the long story short, here I am again, attempting to catch up on lost posts and reviews that were saved but not posted.  Pray my memory serves me well.

Title: The Graveyard Book

Author: Neil Gaiman

Genre: YA Fiction

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Year Published:
2008

Stand alone or series: Stand alone

Why I read it:

I read this as part of the list for both the 2010 Reading Challenge hosted by Bart and the TBR Challenge 2010 hosted by Keishon in June. Yes, that’s how backlogged I am!!!!

the graveyard book

On the Back cover:

Nobody Owens, known to his friends as Bod, is a normal boy. He would be completely normal if he didn’t live in a sprawling graveyard, being raised and educated by ghosts, with a solitary guardian who belongs to neither the world of the living nor of the dead. There are dangers and adventures in the graveyard for a boy-an ancient Indigo Man beneath the hill, a gateway to a desert leading to an abandoned city of ghouls, the strange and terrible menace of the Sleer. But if Bod leaves the graveyard, then he will come under attack from the man Jack—who has already killed Bod’s family.


In my books …

This has got to be one of Mr Gaiman’s best work. I love the unusual setting he picked for raising a child, and the matter-of-fact approach that Silas adopted in raising Bod, for it is very much under his influence that Bod came to be an intelligent, kind-hearted and just person.

There may not be affectionate display by both main characters, but you just know from the care Silas shows for Bod’s safety out in the unknown world, that Silas has grown to love Bod as his own child. I would actually very much like to learn what happens to Bod after this.  This book is definitely movie material.

Favourite Quotes/Parts:

“I want to see life. I want to hold it in my hands. I want to leave a footprint on the sand of a desert island. I want to play football with people. I want,” he said, and then he paused and he thought. “I want everything.”  – Bod

“You can do anything, make anything, dream anything. If you change the world, the world will change.” – Silas

IMB Rating: 4.0, really liked it

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Comments are closed.