Book Review: The Firebrand by Marion Zimmer Bradley

Now that the busiest period at work is over, it’s time for me to pick up my posts where I left off. First up is a long overdue review of a book that I originally read for Keishon’s TBR Challenge for March.

Title: The Firebrand

Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley

Genre: Historical Fiction/ Fantasy

Publisher: ROC

Year Published : 2007

Stand alone or series: Stand alone

Book Review: The Firebrand by Marion Zimmer Bradley

Why I read it:
I’ve been fascinated by Greek mythology since young, and one of the tales I love most is that of the Iliad. I’ve read numerous different accounts and rewrites of this war epic, and have yet to get tired of it. One of the best I’ve read is Colleen McCullogh’s Song of Troy, told from the perspectives of different key players in the war.

Marion Zimmer Bradley has long been a favourite author of mine, and I’ve been wanting to read this recount of the war from the perspective of the Trojan princess Kassandra.

On the Back cover:

Though born of noble blood, Kassandra is destined for a life greater than that of a Trojan princess. Even before her mother sends her to live among the Amazons, Kassandra is chosen by the Sun God Apollo as his priestess – and has the gift of foresight bestowed upon her.

She has foreseen the destruction of Troy – a great war between the Akhaians and Trojans and the wrath of the gods upon them all. But no one believes Kassandra’s prophecies, or heeds her warnings about the beautiful woman known as Helen …

In my books …
MZB has imbued the main character Kassandra, through whose eyes readers are treated to the unfolding of the war, and a realistic glimpse of the life and times of ancient Greeks (Akhaians), Trojans and their relationship with their deities, with a rather modern view of the world. At times, her views seem a little incongruous with the mentality of the women around her.

In a sense, Kassandra is more Amazonian and liberal than her mother and sisters, and I’m of the opinion that this difference in thought and action is what set her apart as an eccentric and outcast, rather than her gift of prophecy. What was different about this retelling, is the unlikely friendship that sprung up between Helen and Kassandra.

My firm favourite of MZB’s wok remains The Mists of Avalon, which is far more intense and absorbing than this stand-alone. Some parts of the book suffered a little from pacing issues, but on the whole, the story and the rich background of the novel makes it a good read.

Favourite Quotes/Parts:
None that I can recall

IMB Rating: 4.0, Liked It!

36 thoughts on “Book Review: The Firebrand by Marion Zimmer Bradley

  1. New reader here. I know this can be a pretty old post, but it’s what introduced me to your web site (found the link on a buddy’s facebook), so it’s only right that I leave my first comment here.

  2. Hello there, I found your web site via Google while searching for a related topic, your web site came up, it looks good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  3. Alveo says:

    I’ve been visiting your blog for a while now and I always find a gem in your new posts. Thanks for sharing.

    • ag says:

      It’s hosted with Yahoo. I’ll check it out with them. Could be their servers overloaded? Thanks for the feedback.

  4. Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thanks Nevertheless I’m experiencing difficulty with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting similar rss drawback? Anybody who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

  5. ag says:

    Hi I think you’ve got the wrong blog. I don’t have a contact form, so of course there’s no contact button.

  6. hello very good blog site and web theme. Hopefully I’m not disturbing you I just wanted to inquire what wordpress plugin you use to show the most recent remarks on your blog? I would like to do something similar for my free ipad page yet I can’t get the plugin or widget for it. Thanks for your time 🙂

  7. Hi there, I was flipping through some sites and I got to your homepage from bing. I read some of your articles and thought they were pretty good. Thanks, I will visit your website again soon.

  8. I thought it was going to be some boring old site, but I’m glad I visited. I will post a link to this site on my blog. I am sure my visitors will find that very useful.

  9. Undoubtedly, one of the best article l have come across on this precious topic. I quite agree with your conclusions and will eagerly look forward to your coming updates.

  10. Thanks very much for your brilliant blog;this is the words that keeps me awake with the day. I’ve been looking around with this web site after i heard about them from a colleague and was happy after i found it after searching for long time. Being a avid blogger, I’m happy to see others taking initivative and adding to the city. Just wanted to comment to exhibit my approval for your web page as it’s extremely energizing, and many bloggers do not get appreciation they deserve. I am certain I’ll visit once again and will spread the word to my friends.

Comments are closed.