Ten Dos For the New Year

Well, it’s a new year, and besides giving away books, it’s time to break bad habits and face new challenges with a grin and finish up books that have been gathering dust on shelves.  So, while I’m echoing Kristie’s and Sayuri’s “Read More, Buy Less” ethos, naggings from the DH and my own eco-conscious friends have prompted me to start seriously consider switching to digital.

While I’m pondering that, here are 10 things related to reading and blogging that I told myself I’ll do in 2010:

  1. Finish up the backlog of reviews before the first quarter of the year.
  2. Limit buying of print books to collector’s and special editions.
  3. Visit the local library more often.
  4. Switch to electronic book formats whenever possible.
  5. Resolve to remain UNPLUGGED at least one weekend per month at home. (Huge thanks to Jen and Candace for the idea).
  6. Bring back the WebWatch series, it’s one of the reasons I started blogging, so no reason to stop now.
  7. Do better at the TBR Challenge.
  8. Finish reading the few BIG BOOKS* that I’ve been postponing for months, eh, years actually, before the end of 2010.  (BIG, BIG thanks to Orannia for this challenge).
  9. Read the Bible from cover to cover, no slacking this year round!
  10. Last but not least, be more disciplined about posting.

* A BIG is one with more than 500 pages. There’re several I’ve been avoiding, at the top of the list is Lord of the Rings by J R R Tolkien.
Other big books in my TBR pile include:

Chronicles of Narnia (an omnibus) by C S Lewis

Eldest by Christopher Paolini

Return to Troy by Lindsay Clarke

Chronicles of the Celts by Peter Berresford Ellis

One thought on “Ten Dos For the New Year

Comments are closed.