There and Back again

Am taking a break between Olympic watch and reading Blue Dragon – that’s right, I finally tracked down a much awaited copy of this book — to bring you this lil’ catch-up post.

Let’s see now … on the way up, I popped into Harris books, it was the only shop open at 5am in the morning, so of course, my hands got itchy. I ended up adding three more books to my carry-on, namely Tangled Up in You by Rachel Gibson, An Offer You Can’t Refuse by Jill Mansell, both editions published by Little Black Dress and a rather forgettable Temptation of the Warrior by Margo Maguire.

I was rather intrigued by the synopsis of the third book, but the Temptation of the Warrior turned out to be a dud with me.  I won’t be reviewing that book as it warrants at most a 2.5 rating.  I didn’t like it enough.  Let’s just say the fantasy and magic angle of the story was a little contrived, and really could have been better developed.

There and Back again There and Back again

Disappointing book aside, the upside of visiting Sydney was the opportunity to hunt down the elusive next instalment of Aussie author Kylie Chan’s Dark Heavens trilogy. I mean, where else would I have a much greater chance of finding the sensational fantasy writer’s book than on her own turf, so to speak, right?

And I wasn’t disappointed … found it waiting for me on the bookshelf of Timeslink at the Kingsford Smith Airport.  And not a moment too soon … as I was rushing for my return flight home, and having had no chance to go sightseeing at night, I was banking on finding a copy there.  And now, I simply have to get back to the story of Emma and John … Kylie Chan simply gets better.

