Four Good Books

With one website launched, I have a little bit of breathing space, so without further ado, here are the reviews of four books read recently.

Lord of the Silver Bow by David Gemmel is a prize find. I mean, I’ve always been a fan of Greek heroic fantasy, but have always stuck to the interpretations of female authors. Mr Gemmel swept me off my feet with this gritty, enthralling tale of three different characters – two heroes and a priestess-princess and the roles they will eventually play in the Trojan war. A veteran writer renowned in the fantasy genre, this gentleman took me by surprise with his sensitive treatment of the finer emotions of the heroine, and the barely suppressed feelings of love.

Four Good Books

But as with all heroic epics, the central theme here is still about honour on the battlefield, and the friendship which sprung between two heroes from rival kingdoms. I’m so pleased with the rounded characters, the developing plot and the hint of more intrigues to follow that I’m already scouting the stores for the sequel and the finale, completed by the late author’s wife and published posthumously very recently.

On the way

The Dangers of Deceiving A Viscount by Julia London was truly worth waiting for. I knew Phoebe’s unusual talent for designing gowns, and her secret identity as London’s most-sought-after modiste Madam Dupree would be good fodder for an unexpected romance … and she was despairing over being left on the shelf. But of course, as she’s introduced to Will in her role as modiste, she’s face with the dilemma and risk losing him who hates deceit of any kind, or accept his offer of carte de blanc and enjoy her brief sojourn in his estate.

Ms London has wrought a most satisfying finale to the Desperate Debutantes series, and I’m looking forward to her latest series – the new Scandal series to be published in June.

I recommend High Fidelity by Nick Hornby to anyone who’s going through the pains of separation or in a relationship hiatus, and may even bring out the dormant list-maker in you. This is a list of five reasons why this book rocks:

Four Good Books

1. The author’s trademark ironic wit and humour won the day for me.

2. I totally dig all the music references to the various stages of Rob’s enlightenment and healing.

3. The many quirky, sometimes inanely funny, and other times irreverent lists that Rob comes up with.

4. Rob’s insecurities and hang-ups are a great eye-opener to what really runs through some guys’ mind.

5. I can almost detect some of Rob’s character traits in friends and even the DH.

On the way

Ever since Leigh from Sourcebooks tipped me off on the reprint of Georgette Heyer’s Cotillion, I’ve been impatient to get a copy. So, when my copy finally arrived, I wasted no time in finishing it. For the uninitiated, this Regency novel had young heiress Kitty concocting an audacious scheme with the unassuming hero Freddy to bring the cousin she thought she loved to heel. Only to discover tender feelings and great admiration for the former, and wishing that the betrothal would become reality.

Freddy turned knight-in-shining-armour time and again to rescue Kitty from various madcap adventures and social missteps only to find himself falling for her, and secretly hoping she would outgrow her crush on their rascally cousin. In fact, I’m reminded of Austen’s Emma in some ways while reading this, so it shouldn’t surprise you to hear that I enjoyed it.

