London Back-to-back

Looking at the state of my database (apologies to Jodie and Mailyn … I lost your comments while trying to salvage the situation, boohoo…), I was hesitant about posting my review on two Julia London books I read before flying off to Sydney, lest I stress the server too much.

However, the posts are piling up and it is kind of cathartic to get this off my chest before I talk about my wonderful sojourn down under. So here goes …

I’ve never thought of reading London’s contemporary works until Marg recommended them to me. Wedding Survivor was a great starter for me, and I suspect it is merely the beginning of the downfall, so to speak, of the four eligible founders of Thrillseekers.

Bingeing AgainFrom the moment I read the synopsis at the back, I knew this book was going to be one fun roller-coaster ride of one wedding planning disaster after another with a HEA somewhere, and I was right. It really was an enjoyable laugh-a-minute light reading romance with sexy scenes and touching tender moments that’ll make your toes curl with the fuzzy warm feeling you get from reading something utterly romantic.

Just to cue you in, here’s the synopsis because I’m still too frazzled over the state of my blog to paraphrase or summarize:

When a pair of A-list movie stars decides to combine a wedding with an extreme sport outing, ex-stuntman Eli McCain isn’t too happy. One of Thrillseekers Anonymous’s founders, he was jilted at the altar a year ago—and has no interest in hearing wedding bells. Unfortunately, he’s been outvoted, and now there’s a crazy wedding to stage with a bridezilla from hell. 

In comes wedding coordinator Marnie Banks to save the day—and, she hopes, make some romantic connections with Hollywood’s jet set. Only one problem stands in her way: Eli McCain, who may look like a movie star but clearly has no appreciation for the finer things in life. 

But when a freak storm hits, Marnie and Eli are trapped on the wrong side of a ravine. Now if someone could just tell her why this handsome, rugged man is so obviously all wrong for her—because suddenly she can’t seem to survive without him. 

Big thank-you to Marg for the good rec.

Another Book-stop at Borders

The Perils of Pursuing a Prince was an auto-buy for me as I enjoyed the first instalment of the author’s The Desperate Debutantes series, The Hazards of Hunting a Duke, thoroughly. To be honest, I had high hopes of this being a Regency road trip romance of sorts, from all the cryptic letters Greer had Ava and Phoebe had received in the first book, but it didn’t quite turn out that way. I wouldn’t say that I was disappointed, but I wasn’t too thrilled by it.

It really was a stopover for me until Phoebe’s story comes out. She has such a passion for designing and sewing gowns — the struggling fashion designer of that era – it’ll be interesting to see how far she’d go to pursue that profession.

Here’s the lowdown on the plot:

Lady Greer Fairchild’s only hope of avoiding marriage to the first bidder is journeying into the untamed Welsh countryside in search of an inheritance she’s not sure even exists—one reportedly controlled by Rhodrick Glendower, Earl of Radnor, also known as the Prince of Powys. Rumor has it that the prince is rough, ruthless—even a murderer.But Greer never imagined that the brute would refuse to let her leave his remote castle until she has proven her identity. Or that she would find herself powerfully attracted to this passionately virile man whose gruff demeanor belies a proud and sensual nature. The further Greer falls under his spell, the more determined she becomes to unravel the secrets of her Welsh heritage and the mystery surrounding the dark prince who dares her to become his wife and princess.

While London had given Greer’s hero suitably mysterious air and gruff manners that somehow rubs off on you after a couple of chapters, I lamented over Greer’s naivette, and wondered how such a wiser, much older, and thus more worldly guy like Rhodrick could want in her. It got better towards the middle, but the big-mis, which is a non-issue really, didn’t work so well with me.

Nevertheless, it brought me a few pleasant hours of reading, and that excerpt from the next book was tantalizing. I’m definitely looking forward to reading the last of the girls’ story, The Dangers of Deceiving a Viscount.

4 thoughts on “London Back-to-back

  1. CindyS says:

    Phew!! You’re back! I was worried but I saw error messages at the top of the blog so I figured you were having some issues. I will write down that Julia London book and see if I can find it around her – I haven’t seen it before.

    Glad you had a great trip to Sydney and can’t wait to hear about it!

    CindyS

  2. ag says:

    Thanks Mailyn, for the commiseration. It’s back in shape … turns out on of the plugins is causing the grief so I deactivated that.

    Marg, thanks for dropping by, and I’m back from Sydney. It’s such a lovely city. Oooh … you like the second of the Thrillseekers’ story. Hmmm … I’ll have to check that out. Maybe after I’ve made some inroads into my TBR. It’s mounting up, and I have this thing about keeping it to below 30.

    Anyway, thanks ladies for the comments.

  3. I’m glad you enjoyed it! I’ve read the second book and liked that too, but I don’t know if I am going to read the third book yet because it is coming out in trade paperback…and the cover doesn’t look as though it fits with the rest of the trilogy IMO. I might wait and see if it is going to come out in normal paperbook and look at it then, but I will find it hard to wait because I have enjoyed the first two! Decisions, decisions!

    I still haven’t read the Hazards yet. Main…i have too many books to read! Hope you are having a great time in Sydney!

  4. Sorry you are having blog issues. Those suck. We should know. We have to deal with the incompetence that is Blogger! LOL.

    Hope you had much fun on your trip.

Comments are closed.