In the Mood for Rachel Gibson

This follow-up to the author’s romance series starring four writers – one crime thriller writer, one romance, one fantasy and one true crime author – was on my wishlist for quite a while before I finally tracked it down.

Another Book-stop at Borders

I’d mistaken another of Rachel Gibson’s book for this, but I’m in No Mood for Love did not disappoint when I finally picked it up for a leisurely read one evening. Sure, it’s lighthearted, yet it dealt with some heavy issues of commitment, sabotage and self-worth and to a certain extent, parent-child relationship. And because these issues were packaged nicely and realistically (there were still room for improvements, for example, in Clare’s relationship with her mother at the end of the story), they went down pretty well with me.

The first chapter was the hook which enticed me when I first read it in a sneak preview at the end of Sex, Lies and Online Dating. Clare Wingate had woken up with a nasty hangover with nary a stitch to her skin and no memory of what transpired the night before. Worse, she discovered she’d just shared the bed with Sebastian Vaughan, her childhood crush who’s grown up to be this sexy, globe-hopping hot-shot journalist.

Still recovering from her shock of discovering her fiancé in flagrante delicto with another guy, heart-broken Clare was in no mood for romance, let alone love. But Sebastian wasn’t inclined to go away, and between his persuasive wooing and unforgettable kisses, Clare let herself be drawn into a wild affair that both agreed would have no strings attached.

However, as Sebastian’s easy companionship and sensitivity to her moods and needs heal her heart, Clare unknowingly fell in love with him. So did Sebastian, only the emotion is so alien and crippling to him that he baulked at the idea of moving their relationship further. Of course, you bet they resolved their issues, but it sure was touching, dramatic with a touch of humour, and totally romantic.

One thing I love about Rachel Gibson is her use of humour. It’s not tacky, or cliché, and she seals it with clever puns. She didn’t lay on the steam and smut unnecessarily in this book, the scenes were written in as part of plot development and sat well within the context of the progress of Sebastian’s and Clare’s romance.

I believe I’ve confided that I seldom read contemporary romances but once in a while you come across one that strikes resonance with you because of the issues that the novel deals with. This is one such book, yet because it’s written with such an easy grasp of modern relationship stumbling blocks I find myself relating to it. I won’t dismiss this as a frothy chick-lit. This light reading romance does pack a punch within its pages, and I’m really glad I bought it.

7 thoughts on “In the Mood for Rachel Gibson

  1. ag says:

    Cindy – I like this more than Sex, Lies ..

    Mailyn, I read very few contemps, so am lucky that this is a hit and not a miss.

    Kristie, glad you found a hit.

    Nath, yeah, Claire was in denial, but so was Sebastian (ooh … I just love that name). But that’s what made them believable cos they’re reacting like any ordinary person would against the unpleasantries of life.

    Rowena, glad you few the same way about this book.

  2. Wow, your review for this book was really good. I quite enjoyed the whole thing. I was nodding right along with everything you said, this is one of my favorite RG and I love this book!

    Great review!

  3. Me too, hit or miss… this book was pretty much a miss ^^; I just got annoyed at Claire at some point, because she kept thinking this was a fling when we all knew it wasn’t. I have to say, this cover is very pretty and the one for the next book in the series is too 😀 Same style, just different dress 🙂

  4. She’s hit and miss for me too. But when it’s a hit – it’s a very big hit. I have this one in the TBR pile. My biggest hit though is See Jane Score. I think I’ve read that one about 4 times now *g*

  5. CindyS says:

    Hmmm, Gibson can be hit or miss with me. I started her last book Sex, Lies and Online dating and was shocked at how fast I put the book down after reading the description of the heroine! I think everything about her reminded me of my mother right down to Eddie Bauer something or other. I’m figuring until I give that book another shot I shouldn’t be buying anymore – although that cover is hard to keep away from.

    CIndyS

Comments are closed.