Seeking Reader Comments and Book Inscriptions

When you’re in between books or on a reading break, be sure to check out these two interesting projects.

Amy left me a message to tell me about a writing and reader competition that Gather.com is hosting. Currently into Round 3, members of this social networking site are casting their votes for the 10 selected submissions who they’d like to see advance to the final round, which will see the total reduced to five. 

You can enrich the competition with your comments on each of the 5 advancing submissions for a chance to win a $100 Borders gift card, and you can win more than once! Interested? Go here.

Amy did warn me that there are no romance entries left in the competition, but I’ll check out the remaining ten. Oh, Amy, may I compliment Gather for this most laudable Web 2.0 initiative in book promotion/ event marketing. 

Shaun over at The Book Inscriptions Project sent me an email which made me sit up and click to their site immediately. He said:

Hey Book Lover, thought you might like to see what’s in OUR BOOKS. And we’d love to see what’s in yours.

We are trying to collect as many book inscriptions as we can from all around the world so we can put up a new one every day.

Some of them are funny, some are sad, some are just unbelievably personal. We know you find them every time you get a new shipment of used books and we would love to see the ones you’ve found over the years. All you have to do is scan them and we’ll put up the best ones with a link to your store.

If you have any questions, please feel free to email us anytime. We can’t wait to see what you’ve got!

 

Now I don’t know about you, but with such exciting things happening, the month of May is starting to look really merry. And don’t get me started on the summer blockbusters that are coming to the big screen. I’m off to hunt down some inscriptions and check out the entries. 

