Bespelled by Cast’s Goddesses

In case you’re wondering at the silence, I’ve just been too immersed in the wonderful world of P C Cast’s brilliant Goddess Summoning series, and Camelot (Zettel) and Avalon (Sherrilyn Kenyon writing as Kinley MacGregor) — and I’ve been enjoying a long streak of good reading karma – that I simply couldn’t tear myself away from them, but before I let my enthusiasm for these exceptional works carry me away, I’d just like to thank Samantha for tipping me off on reading Goddess of Spring before Goddess of Light.

Trust me when I say it made a difference when these two stories are read in that sequence. As for the other two, Goddess of the Sea and Goddess of the Rose, they may be read before or after as they aren’t really connected, although Carolina’s bakery (Spring) made a cameo appearance in the last (Rose).

There I Go Again There I Go Again

The covers of these books are simply gorgeous!! There’s embossing and glitter to give them a little glamour, and it doesn’t hurt that the illustrations look so dreamy.

The Goddess of Spring throws modern day bakery business owner, Carolina Santoro, at the mercy of Greek God of the Underworld, Hades, when she accidentally invoked the help of Demeter to save her business. In exchange, she has to help the Goddess of Harvest by impersonating as her divine daughter, the nubile Persephone, who’s been sent to the Hades’ mysterious dark kingdom to bring spring to the lost souls there. Naturally, they end up falling for each other, but before they get to happily ever after, there are some misunderstandings to clear up, conflicts to resolve and the matter of mortality to overcome.

I think I’ve confessed in a much earlier post my fascination with Hades and how I’ve always pictured him as a misunderstood hero. Well, I’m glad that Cast chose to portray him pretty much as Gellis did in Dazzling Brightness, but she gave her Hades a yearning for the kind of love that he has seen amongst mortals, gruff manners which are nevertheless endearing and a strong sense of honour. My kind of guy!! I was also bowled over by the mature heroine she chose — Lina has spunk and integrity, and she’s intelligent and resourceful to boot. How can you not like such a heroine?

Goddess of Light came next, and having already met the hero of this book, Apollo, in the previous novel where he was shown up as a guy who’s just contented to play the field, I had an inkling this story will be the making of him. And the woman responsible for the moulding of his character is Pamela Gray, a successful interior designer who is never short on creativity but could have used a little help in the romance department. In steps Artemis, whose help she accidentally invoked one fateful evening in Las Vegas, who granted her wish by sending her brother Apollo to woo her.

Impulse Shopping Again

Of course the little weekend interlude for Apollo became much more than a fling for he fell in love with Pamela. But there was mischief afoot and the pair of star crossed lovers was cheated of a happily ever after when the malicious Bacchus decided to create a little chaos and messed with their lives out of spite and jealousy. In the end, it was Hades and Artemis who helped wrought a new beginning for the pair.

I loved the comical situations that Cast threw the pair of divine siblings into when they lost their immortality for a week when Bacchus tricked them into missing the portal back to Olympus. I like the serious, committed Apollo in this book, and Pamela was a delight as well.

There I Go Again

Goddess of the Sea, which is actually the first book in the series, had Christine Canady exchanging souls with mermaid Princess Undine when an air accident threw her in the frightened royal’s path as the mermaid was evading her obsessive, slightly psychopathic step brother’s amorous approach. Calling on Mother Earth Gaea’s help, Christine took on human form in a medieval world where people burn witches alive to search for the one true love to break the evil brother’s hold on her. She was rescued by a knight in shining armour, but how can she tell him who she really is when she has to return to the sea every three days or risk losing her life. Then, there’s sexy merman Dylan, who is entirely devoted to her and has sworn to wait for her for all eternity. Christine became torn between two worlds, and two relationships. Before she could even inform either man of her decision, matters come to a head in a confrontation between good and evil. Who will she choose in the end?

Okay, I’m keeping mum here so as not to give the story away to those who haven’t read it. Suffice to say, Cast has created yet another inventive piece of romantic fantasy that appeals to my insatiable interest in myths, magic and adventure. She peppers her stories with humour and weaves passion into these tales effortlessly, leaving her readers bespelled by the inspired plots, and the humane and lovable characters.

Goddess of the Rose affected me on a different level, so I’ll discuss that book in the next post. If you were to ask me to pick a favourite, it’s nigh impossible, but I’d say Spring, Light and Rose get the thumbs-up from me. Makes me glad I started with the right books.

3 thoughts on “Bespelled by Cast’s Goddesses

  1. ag says:

    Hi samantha,

    I’m eagerly looking forward to Goddess of Love too, and I’ve enjoyed Divine by Mistake. I’ve got its sequel on my shelf, and will get round to that soon.

    Marg, you’ve got to read Spring soon. I think you’ll enjoy it. I just like the heroine isn’t your usual starry-eyd debutante.

  2. Yay! I’m glad you liked these books! I can’t wait for Goddess of Love to come out. I think it’s set to release sometime in June.

    Goddess of Spring was probably my favorite too with Goddess of the Rose coming in a close second.

    Have you read Cast’s Divine by Mistake? It’s kind of like these books, but it branches off into a series of its own and it’s focused more on a battle plot than on the romance.

Comments are closed.