A Perfect Ten

My dear hubby surprised me with a diamond solitaire for our 10th wedding anniversary on Wednesday, which we celebrated with an intimate lunch at Les Amis.

You’d have thought that being a romance reader, I’d be the one springing all the surprises, but no … R beat me to it. And accompanying his sweet gift was this touching card which brought tears to my eyes:


Here we are.
You and me.
The same two lovers who pledged our lives to each other
with stars in our eyes
and big dreams in our hearts.
And while the years have seen some of those starry-eyed dreams come true,
these years have also opened our eyes to the reality
that marriage takes work, patience, and the kind of love
that stays true, no matter what.

Here we are.
You and me.
Celebrating another year of loving and living and learning.
Another year of working to make this life together
The best it can be.
And I just want you to know that I believe in us.
I believe in our love,
And I believe in the strength and the beauty that come
From sharing life’s joys
And weathering its storms …
together.

You are my love,
and when I pledged my life to you,
I said forever …
I still do.

Needless to say, there were ‘oohs’ and ‘ahhs’ all round when I returned to work yesterday with something sparkly on my ring finger. Nope, I didn’t flash it. A colleague came over to discuss something, and when she saw the ring on my finger, teased me loudly about it. So the cat was out of the bag within minutes.

Hmmm … wonder what R will come up with next. It never fails to amaze me how this quiet man I married, who claims to be shy and inarticulate, can speak so eloquently with his actions. Yeah, I know how blessed I am.

Thank you, God for this wonderful, beautiful man.

14 thoughts on “A Perfect Ten

  1. CindyS says:

    Happy Belated 10th Anniversary!!

    It’s those shy quiet ones you have to watch out for 😉

    Very happy for you both.

    CindyS

  2. Aaaawwwww (along with everyone else) It just makes it so much sweeter doesn’t it, when they are the quiet, shy type and then they go and do something like that! Happy Anniversary!!!

Comments are closed.