Topping it

Cindy came up with this great idea, which Kristie took up and urged us all to join in, so of course I’m game. I’ve previously done a Top 10 list, so I’m going to update and expand on that.

Top 25 Favourites by Romance writers:

  1. By Arrangementby Madeline Hunter
  2. Kingdom of Gold by Susan Wiggs
  3. The Devil in Winter by Lisa Keyplas – replaces Somewhere I’ll Find You
  4. The Bride’s Bodyguard by Elizabeth Thornton
  5. Dazzling Brightness by Roberta Gellis
  6. The Pride of Lions by Marsha Canham
  7. The Duke by Gaelen Foley
  8. Romancing Mr. Bridgerton by Julia Quinn
  9. Moonlight Becomes Her by Meagan McKinney
  10. Something About Emmaline by Elizabeth Boyle
  11. Potent Pleasures by Eloisa James
  12. Black Ice by Anne Stuart
  13. Veils of Silk by Mary Jo Putney
  14. The Gilded Cage by Edith Layton
  15. The Sun Witch by Linda Winstead Jones
  16. The Devil You Know by Liz Carlyle
  17. That Scandalous Evening by Christina Dodd
  18. The Fairest of Them All by Teresa Medeiros
  19. Saving Grace by Julie Garwood
  20. The Scotsman by Juliana Garnett
  21. Bride to Be by Jane Ashford
  22. Merely Magic by Patricia Rice
  23. The Gilded Cage by Edith Layton A Woman of Passion by Virginia Henley
  24. Almost Innocent by Jane Feather
  25. Shopaholic Takes Manhattan by Sophie Kinsella

As for non-romance books …

Top 25 Favourites by non romance authors:

  1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  2. The Song of Troy by Colleen McCullough
  3. The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley
  4. The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy
  5. Harry Potter & the Half Blood Prince by J K Rowling
  6. The Mammoth Hunters by Jean M Auel
  7. Mythology by Edith Hamilton
  8. Anne of Green Gables by L M Montgomery
  9. All Creatures Great & Small by James Herriot
  10. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
  11. Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott
  12. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
  13. War & Peace by Leo Tolstoy
  14. The Princess Bride by William Goldman
  15. Romeo & Juliet by William Shakespeare
  16. The Three Musketeers by Alexander Dumas
  17. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding
  18. Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom
  19. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
  20. Diary of A Young Girl by Anne Frank
  21. The Crucible by Arthur Miller
  22. Sing to the Dawn by Mingfong Ho
  23. The Importance of Being Ernest by Oscar Wilde
  24. The Enchanted Wood by Dame Enid Blyton
  25. The Dragon Prince by Melanie Rawn

 

12 thoughts on “Topping it

  1. ag says:

    Hi Kris, you’re spot on. I’d say Austen books are classics.

    Kailan, I think I bought the Kerry Greenwood through a Book Club (think it’s called Book of the Month Club) some years back.

    Kristie, I know how weird this may sound but I’ve only just discovered Anne Stuart recently, and I’ve yet to pick up a Loretta Chase who has lots of rave reviews.

    Ahh … Cindy has finally put up her list.

  2. Kailana, it is listed at amazon, but it must be rare, it is one of those ridiculously priced ones. It is the first of a series (the other two are Elektra and Medea).

  3. I have Romancing Mr. Bridgerton by Julia Quinn and the Dragon Prince by Michelle Rawn in my tbr pile, they will have to get moved up. I just got Princess Bride from the library sale rack the other day, I was so excited.

    PS I don’t know if you can consider Jane Austin as non-romance. But I do love that book as well.

  4. No, I have never read the Kerry Greenwood book you mentioned. I looked it up on amazon, and I didn’t get a match. Must be out of print. 😦

  5. Gilded Cage by Edith Layton sounds right up my alley!! I have read some of her books and enjoyed them, but not that one. And, oddly enough, add Virgina Henley to an author I’ve never read before. Go figure – she’s very well known I know.

  6. ag says:

    Kristie, Thanks for your eager eyes! I was wondering where my Virgini Henley disappeared to. BTW, Edith Layton’s The Gilded cage is set in post civil war NYC, and gives a fascinating look into the life of a broadway actress. I recalled this when I dug out my book records of books I love.

    Kailana, I love Song of Troy the best amongst all the accounts of that war. Colleen McCullough retold this war epic through several key person’s POVs, so you get a more rounded picture. That said, I love Greek myths … hmmm could you tell? Dazzling Brightness and Mythology are all Greek tales.

    btw, have you read Cassandra by Kerry Greenwood? That’s another version of the Iliad that I like.

    Go, Kristie! Go, Devonna! Go Cindy!

    Cindy, I can’t thank you enough for dreaming up this exercise. Going through my book records trying to decide on the list stirred up such nostalgia and fond memories for me, that I’m going to try tracking all the books down to read again. Mwah!

    And I’ll be dropping by to look up your list … 😉

  7. CindyS says:

    Woohoo!! More books to buy! Since you have some of my favourite books listed here then I know I want to try some that you have listed.

    I’m loving this meme and I should really do it myself. Pronto – but it’s almost time for me to sleep so I’ll have to sit and write it up tomorrow. I just know it will take me hours 😉

    CindyS

  8. I’ve been thinking about it since yesterday and I’m now up to 6. Who would’ve thought coming up with a list of your top 20 (25) would be so hard?!

  9. I think you get one more in your top 25 romance. I notice you have Edith Layton’s down twice *g*.

    I haven’t read a number of those so it’s paying off all ready! More books *fist pump* Let’s see, I haven’t read
    2, 5, 9,14 (or 23), 15, 21, 24 or 25 – That’s 8!

    Of your non-romance I’ve only read Wuthering Heights, Romeo & Juliette and The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank *gulp*

  10. I am so glad that you liked “Song of Troy” so much, it is a book I plan on reading very soon. I was just wondering, is it because you like Troy related books or was this an exception? If you do like Troy, I am reading the first book in a trilogy by David Gemmell.

Comments are closed.