On Blogging

Sam set a very tough book quiz that had me stumped. Really stumped, ‘coz I know the answer to one of the questions, and it’s related to a literature classic, but I can’t identify any of the lines from romance novels. Ha ….the irony of it when I’m an ardent romance fan. Very demoralizing too.

So, what’s a girl to do but look at other simpler projects … like responding to this blogging meme that’s long overdue to Sybil, owing also to being incommunicado for one week. Here goes:

1) When did you first start blogging and why?
Started blogging in June 05, because I’m inherently curious about how things work. Furthermore, as my work revolves around the web and communications, so trying out blogging myself was a natural step, an extension of my professional life of sorts. Work has a way of spilling over to my private life … I picked up Dreamweaver and Photoshop partly because of work. Then, blogging became a way for me to de-stress. Discussing books with like-minded pals online is something that I look forward to increasingly.

2) What don’t you talk about?
I’m really not into politics and carrying on about work, so I’ve kept this blog pretty much to discussing books, movies, blogging, the web and other issues which grab my attention. I may discuss Faith and beliefs in future, but I think that’s about it.

3) Are you and your blogging persona the same person?
I’m a little more garrulous online, otherwise I’m the same curious old self. I try not to be too critical, and I always try to see some good in people and situation.

4) How do you use blogging to build friendships?
I didn’t really set out to use blogging to build friendships, it just happened. It’s pretty amazing how my circle of reader friends just keeps enlarging. To me, that’s my greatest gain since I started blogging … the death of distance, and the beauty of friendship without borders.

5). How would you describe your writing style?
I write more eloquently than the way I speak. I can tolerate some profanity from others, but you won’t hear me spouting them. If the person, book or situation is really, really bad, then I will express my opinion as such, sans profanity. Most often than not, if it’s really that bad, I’ll just chuck the book aside rather than expend time and energy talking about it. But when it comes to issues close to my heart, I may not be so sanguine about it.

Oops … forgot I’m supposed to tag, so these are the new voices (most of whom I’ve recently aded to my blogroll) I’d love to hear from:

Sandy
Jennie – if she’s not tagged already.
Nalini
Kelly
Devonna – except she’s been tagged

geovisit();1

3 thoughts on “On Blogging

  1. ag says:

    Hiya Jennie,

    I quite like the rating icons on your blog.

    And Cindy, dun worry … the way you swear and cuss cracks me up. It’s funny how I find that funny when others do it, but just can’t seem to find myself doing it. But please, stay that way. 😉

  2. CindyS says:

    Ooops, I have tripped over my profanity a number of times but I’m usually trying to be funny. Bad Cindy.

    Interesting that you started blogging because of your interest in your job. Luckily for you, you also have a great hobby in reading 😉

    CindyS

  3. I did do this one a little while ago. I would link to it, but I’m too lazy. My answers were kind of similar to yours, actually. I’m with you on the profanity. It doesn’t offend me when I read other people cursing, but I like to try to convey my thoughts without it. 🙂

Comments are closed.