Tuesdays with Albom

Over the last five Tuesdays I spent reading Tuesdays with Morrie, Mitch Albom had me reduced to a weepy, maudlin woman, whose eyes mist over every touching line she reads.

Tuesdays with AlbomI had already been forewarned by my colleague, “You’ll cry over the book.” she said.  So, I thought I could harden my heart and just breeze through the book. But there’s no way you can escape the heartrending and sincere narration of Albom’s last few months at his college professor’, Morrie Schwartz’s side, learning life’s greatest mysteries and simplest truths.

Don’t believe me? Pick this book up and read it. I guarantee that any warm-blooded human will be touched and stirred by a line or passage. This slim volume packs in a lifetime of Morrie’s wisdom, some of which provokes deep thoughts of the world and life in general. For example,

“Learn how to die, and you learn how to live.”

“If you’re always battling against getting older, you’re always going to be unhappy, because it will happen anyhow.”

“Love each other or perish.” — quoting Auden 

Some of his wisdom sounds like a mish-mash of Buddhist and Christian teachings all rolled into one. Each chapter is devoted to different life experiences, and Morrie’s views on living a meaningful life is spot on!

“Don’t cling to things, because everything is impermanent.”

“Devote yourself to loving others, devote yourself to your community around you, and devote yourself to creating something that give you purpose and meaning.”

“Death ends a life, not a relationship.”

“… love is how you stay alive, even after you are gone.”

Throughout the book, I couldn’t help pondering over each ‘lesson’ he imparted. The messages are simple yet illuminating. Morrie’s outlook on death, family, aging, money, emotions, love, marriage and forgiveness is very uplifting and inspirational. This true story leaves you feeling all warm and fuzzy while your head is buzzing quotable quotes that you could easily adopt as mottos to live by.

My favourite? This one:

“The most important thing in life is to learn how to give out love, and to let it come in.”

Now, that’s a life philosophy that’s truly worth adopting.

3 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Albom

  1. ag says:

    Oh, Marg, I had to put down the book after every chapter to swab at my eyes. And I was reading this during my lunchtime some days!

    Mailyn, without giving my next post away, Sebastian is HOT!!!

  2. can’t wait to see what you thought of Devil in WInter. one of my fave romances! oh and there is no way I am reading did. knowing me I won’t be able to sleep for days lol. great to have you back!

Comments are closed.