Another Dooced

While I’m trying to figure out how I managed to muck up my GOF post royally, here’s a piece of injustice I picked up mid-week from Ohmynews. In the 3 years that she’s been blogging, PetiteAnglaise has only written about a dozen (about 14) posts relating to work. It calls to mind the  famous blogger who was dooced because of blogging, and for whom the term became a permanent inclusion in a dictionary. Wow!

Which brings me to a topic that’s been swirling in my mind quite a bit: self expression vs job security. Where is the line that defines a breakdown of trust? But before I get too carried away, just out of curiosity … does your employer and collegaues at work know that you keep a blog? 

Do you make it a point not to talk about work on your blog? 

What would constitute a breakdown?  Making references in passing?  Nick naming co-workers and discussing incidents from work?What other topics do you avoid?  Will you ever, ever break down and start blogging about work after going all out not to talk about it?

Think about it … while I finish off my review of Order of the Phoenix and The Half Blood Prince for posting, and attempt to repair the damage.

[Update: I gave up trying to fix the error, instead I restored the database, then posted the GOF entry and this again. ]

 

6 thoughts on “Another Dooced

  1. ag says:

    Hmmm … looks like we’ve all been circumspect about discussing work. And that’s good.

    My hubby knows of my blog, but I’m not sure if he visits cos photography’s his interest really, not books.

  2. I don’t think anyone knows I have a blog. My hubby hasn’t even figured it out. He thinks I’m in some kind of book club. I don’t talk about work except to say I’m busy or bored etc. Never mention the company or my coworkers names just because of the incidents you mentioned.

  3. CindyS says:

    Not that you do this but my blog has so many elements of my life in it that it is probably boring reading for most people. Just so happens there are people out there that keep coming back 😉

    I googled by hubby’s product and I did find a post (pages in but still) with it so I’m considering just ex-ing out the brand name in the post.

    CindyS

  4. ag says:

    Hi ladies,

    I started this blog because I want to talk about somethign else other than shoptalk all the time, so I make sure I stay far away from anything work related.

    Sure, I’ll tell you if it was a crazy week or a mad house at work. But that’s it.

    My co-workers have been trying to wheedle my site address out of me, but I’ve managed to keep mum about it, except for a few close friends. I don’t think others would understand.

  5. CindyS says:

    I don’t have a job but I have referenced a few things about Bob’s job. He invented a product for his work and I realized I had used the product name in my blog. Not the brightest thing but I am more aware of that nowadays.

    Course, why would the bosses be mucking around on blogs?

    My family doesn’t even know about my blog and neither do most of my friends. I do consider it a diary of sorts and figure that what my family doesn’t know won’t hurt them 😉

    CindyS

Comments are closed.