Touched by Albom in June

This month, we’re supposed to read a book that was recommended by someone I know (another blogger, author, friend, family member) or that got a lot of buzz.

Touched by Albom in June

Prior to joining the challenge, I’ve already heard a lot about Mitch Albom  from some friends and my brother. What’s more, a friend from work gave me Albom’s Tuesdays with Morrie and The Five People You Meet in Heaven as Christmas gifts last year. When Angie came up with this challenge, I immediately earmarked this for June’s challenge.

Title: The Five People You Meet in Heaven

Author: Mitch Albom

Year published: 2003

Why did you get this book?

I’ve been hearing about this from friends and family, and besides, since it was given to me as a Christmas gift, I simply have to read it.

Do you like the cover?

The simple cover of the book belies the profound wisdom found inside its pages.

Did you enjoy the book?

The author uses deceptively simple language and a straight forward narrative that begins with the last day of the main character, Eddie’s life, and flashbacks that reveal the hows and whys of life.

This book has a timeless appeal because it touches and stirs with life’s lessons to be learnt from universal truths revealed by the five people Eddie meets in heaven, such as

Strangers are just family you have yet to come to know; and

Sometimes when you sacrifice something precious, you’re not losing it. You’re just passing it on to someone else.

Then, there’s also the third lesson of forgiveness with such a powerful rhetoric as

‘Holding anger is poison. It eats you from inside.’

‘.. hatred is a curved blade. And the harm we do, we do to ourselves.’

This lesson struck a chord with me because I’m reminded of my resentment and coldness towards my father, who separated from us but have been trying to make amends in recent years.  I finally learnt to forgive him, after I started going back to church and accepted Him as my personal saviour.  So Eddie’s estrangement and love/hate feelings towards his father found a resonance in me, and the lesson he learnt is also one that is central to my faith.  This is also the part that made me cry in spite of myself.

Life ends, but love doesn’t and it is heartwarming fables like this that people will remember even long after they pass on.  Simply because of the beauty of the sentiments and the purity of the emotions such touching truths evoke.

Was the author new to you and would you read something by this author again?

Yep, he’s new to me and I’m reading his other bestseller, Tuesdays with Morrie. And trying valiantly not to wet the pages with my tears.

Are you keeping it or passing it on?

No way am I passing this on.  These two books are for keeps, although I may loan them out.

Anything else?

My friends warned me that Tuesdays is going to make me cry … harder, but I’ve been skeptical until I read the first chapter.  But more of that book when I’m done.

One thought on “Touched by Albom in June

Comments are closed.