Would you read?

Gay Romances, that is?

I spent the last few days wondering about this after reading Cindy’s and Meljean’s reactions to Brokeback Mountain.  Yep, that gay cowboy movie made by a Taiwanese macho guy. BTW, this is not his first gay-themed movie, one of his earlier ones, The Wedding Banquet, which stars the rather debonair-looking Winston Chao, was acclaimed for its bold tackling of a gay man coming out to his family at his own staged wedding dinner.

Anyway, Cindy concluded that:

Enis loved Jack although I did struggle with that. His upbringing definitely did a number on him. I am also struggling with their last time together. Did they quit each other? I just didn’t know and was upset that that was how we the viewers ended with them. The scene with Jack’s father was heartbreaking also. I don’t know about you but I think his father would have accepted Enis and Jack on the ranch or am I only hoping that would have been the way. Makes me blue but I’m working hard to shake it off. I think I may end up buying it at some point but like you said, it’s painful.”

Meljean “thought Enis was a great character — much more interesting in his conflict than Jack. I definitely think he loved him; I don’t think his father would have accepted them, though. I think the mom would have.”

If a movie with a wrenching love story, albeit between two guys, could generate so much mixed reactions, and theirs are not the first I’ve come across, I wondered …

What if someone were to write romances like this and this? Or this?

Don’t get me wrong, I have friends who are openly gay and they are marvelous people who listens and are sensitive to others’ feelings. Obviously, the target readers for this new romance genre aren’t the traditional romance readers. But would you (and here, I’m directing the question at romance readers) pick them up?

I went hunting for the reaction to those new Romentics and found some varying views. But none of them are from what I’d call hardcore romance readers, hence this post. So, here are my questions:

  1. Would you read a romance with gay/lesbian relationship as its focus? Or would you be more accepting of this as a subplot?
  2. What about the covers? Do you find them as offensive as the clinch covers which show couples in dishabille? Would you reconsider getting one to read out of curiosity if the covers weren’t so raunchy?
  3. If you choice in Q1 is the latter (i.e. gay theme as subplot), do you think you might bring yourself to read the Romentic novels?
4 thoughts on “Would you read?

  1. I wouldn’t read them. I live vicariously through the heroine so two guys just wouldn’t do it and neither would two women. I realize there is a market and there is probably be a lot of people who would try them, but alas, I’m not one of them.

  2. I’ve not read any, mostly because I’ve not sought them out.

    But I’d pick one up if I saw it. It’d not make a difference to me that it’s m/m or f/f.

  3. ag says:

    Bravo, jmc! You’re braver than I am.

    I’m not sure if I’d dare to pick up books like Hot Sauce although I would read a romance with a gay relationship as a subplot. I can accept that.

    Covers-wise … I’d probably not be caught with the bolder poses. I mean, I have problems with the ‘cringe’ covers of historical romances, so I think in this, we’re like minded.

    I’m hopping over to Smart Bitches to go have a look.

  4. 1. The first romance novel I ever read with any significant gay relationship as a subplot was Suzanne Brockmann’s Hot Target, and truly, that subplot was better than the main story. I’ve read one Romentics book, Hot Sauce, after reading the review at Smart Bitches, and picked up a couple of ebooks based on reviews by fellow bloggers. Any short comings that I found with the books were related to the plot and/or writing — nothing to do with the orientation of the heroes.

    2. The covers. Well, I’m not a fan of the cartoony covers across the board, and I think that the computer generated covers for ebooks are pretty awful, too, for the most part. Clinch covers — eh, don’t like them for either hetero or gay romance.

Comments are closed.