Camp: An Independent Woman

I have CindyS to thank for gifting me with this new book by Candace Camp. It was one of the prizes she offered for her fun-filled pop quiz that had us readers hopping from blog to blog trying to pick up the answers to her questions. So, Cindy … this one’s for you.

Camp: An Independent Woman

Being new to Candace Camp, I picked up the book with no expectations.  The synopsis on the back cover intrigued me: a murder at a wedding.  Hmmm … I love romantic mysteries.

Okay … let me back track a little and give you the synopsis on the back cover:

Only one person has ever treated Juliana Holcott with anything other than disdain – Nicholas Barre, the orphaned heir to the estate where she spent her childhood. And when wild, rebellious Nick left home, Juliana was left to fend for herself. Forced to seek employment as a lady’s companion, Juliana has resigned herself to a life of lonely independence … until Nick’s innocent attentions at a ball (well, it’s actually more than that) cause her to lose her position, and her offers her the only recompense he can – a marriage of convenience.It now falls to Juliana to prove to Nick that he is capable of the love they both so richly deserve. But when a guest at their wedding turns up dead, they must pursue a more urgent quarry — a murderer.

Will one man’s greed and bloodlust ruin their chance at happiness … or will love conquer all?

This is an easy book to enjoy.  It’s got likeable characters, a common enough mystery with an uncommon twist (there were actually more than one murder), and the author uses simple narrative to deliver her story effectively … no overly lush descriptions of what goes on between a man and a woman. She’s also created a good degree of romantic tension between Juliana and Nick – the reader can tell they’re both falling in love yet because of their battered past, remain reticent about telling each other how they truly felt.

This is an easy book to enjoy.  It’s got likeable characters, a common enough mystery with an uncommon twist (there were actually more than one murder), and the author uses simple narrative to deliver her story effectively … no overly lush descriptions of what goes on between a man and a woman. She’s also created a good degree of romantic tension between Juliana and Nick – the reader can tell they’re both falling in love yet because of their battered past, remain reticent about telling each other how they truly felt.The heroine is intelligent and resourceful, as an independent woman cognizant of her station if life but determined to live by her own means should be.  I find her fierce independence and quiet defiance endearing. The hero gets brownie points for rising above an abusive childhood to make it on his own, as well for being merciful and compassionate towards his aunt. He also gets my stamp of approval for being smart enough to leave his sad past behind to embrace the love that Juliana offers.

I’ve already had a strong hunch about the killer even before it occurred, no thanks to the all-revealing synop on the back cover. But the story ends with a startling revelation, which I didn’t expect. This is good … it would have been boring if the reader could already predict the plot development. All in all, this is a rather sweet tale of two childhood sweethearts who lost and finally found each other.

And it’s all thanks to Cindy (mwah!) that I got my first taste of Candace Camp.

You can find other reader opinions of Candace’s An Independent Woman here and here.

3 thoughts on “Camp: An Independent Woman

  1. ag says:

    Cindy, thanks once again for this.

    Kristie, I can relate to how you feel. I used to read Christina Dodd and Madeline Hunter quite a bit, but they got bumped off the list by Eloisa James, Kleypas and JQ.

    I’m going throught a revival of sorts … just finished Hunter’s Lady of Sin … but I love to try new authors ‘cos you never know when you’re going to find a nice surprise like this one.

    Keep discovering!

  2. This one was a real pleasant surprise for me. I used to read her and then for some reason she fell off my radar. After I read this one and really liked it, now I want to get all her books that I missed. Love when that happens ’cause I can find them much cheaper in UBS’s

  3. CindyS says:

    Squeeee! I’m so glad that it was a good read. Hey, you never know sometimes. I would hate to know that I had sent you some drek! My husband has suggested I do daily quizzes to get the book pile down. He’s so not funny 😉

    CindyS

Comments are closed.