Watch the Screen

One of the things I love about the summer is the slew of blockbusters that Hollywood churns out for the season and this year is no exception. If you’ve not decided on the gems to catch, Newsweek’s preview of 15 summer blockbusters on MSNBC gives you the low-down. For me, these are the few gems that I was already eagerly anticipating:

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men’s Chest

Watch the Screen
Three reasons: Orlando, Keira and Johnny. I love the chemistry amongst them and this high sea adventure is something that is suitable for the kids too. They had a good yo-ho-ho-ing good time laughing at the clumsy Captain Jack Sparrow. Orlando Bloom cuts a pretty dashing figure as a pirate, and Keira fits into all the action with the boys like they were born to be pirates. Together, they made piracy sort of cool, and the word is there’s going to be a 3rd instalment next summer.

Miss it? I’d rather walk the plank, or better still, be fed to the sharks. Meanwhile, here’s the official site to feed your curiosity.

Mark 7 July on your calendar. I’m so going to get the DVD when it comes out!

X-Men: The Last Stand

Watch the ScreenI’ve been following this comic series ever since its debut. That was my intro to Hugh Jackman, so of course I was hooked. Big time. Went on to watch Kate & Leopold and Van Helsing of course. The other reason for my going ga-ga? Halle Berry as Storm. Take a sneak peek at the trailer over at their super-cool official website, with real flashy effects.

Mistress of Spices

Watch the Screen
Any fan of Aishwarya wouldn’t miss this, her second Hollywood outing, and this time opposite the dishy Dylan McDermott. The story, based in on the book by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, is definitely the stuff of romantic comedies.

Tilo runs a spice store and has a magical gift. She gives them spices to help them get what they want from life. In order for the magic to work, she must never leave the store, never touch another human, and only love the spices. But when a handsome American enters her store, Tilo‘s own desires are stirred for the first time. As she begins to defy the rules, the magic starts to misbehave and Tilo must decide. Will she choose the forbidden love of an American or devotion to her spices and her traditions?

It somehow reminds me of The Butcher’s Wife. The movie has already been released in Toronto, USA and UK and is only now making its way here. Catch the trailer here.

Of Pirates and Spices

The Devil Wears Prada
Haven’t read the book, but probably will.  Main reason I wanna watch this?  Meryl Streep and Anne Hathaway. It’s great to see the latter break away from her princess roles, and with Meryl taking on the villainous role of da BITCH, it’s going to be quite something to watch for.

Superman Returns
This is another comic superhero worth drooling over.  Dimpled Christopher Reeves will forever live on as THE Superman, but I’m going to catch it just to see if his doppelganger can deliver the goods as well.

Well, now I’ll just have to wait for the release date her and get the tics.

4 thoughts on “Watch the Screen

  1. CindyS says:

    I told Bob tonight that I needed to see MI-3 at the theater. I usually don’t mind watching movies at home but there are certain movies that need to be seen on the big screen. I know the reviews are bad but hey, I know what I’m getting into – action, action and more action. I’m okay with it 😉

    I don’t know if I will see Pirates on the big screen – I saw never saw the first on the big screen but loved it – little slow to begin. Bob’s never seen it. Maybe I can get him to sit for 2 hours sometime this weekend and get his opinion 😉

    The Devil Wears Prada! Now I glad I never read the book – I can just see the movie!

    CindyS

Comments are closed.