Hopelessly Hooked on Harry

I can’t scarcely believed that I’ve finished reading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, the Chamber of Secrets AND the Prisoner of Azkaban all within seven days in a hectic work week.

HP and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Am barely even aware of the passage of time until I’ve turned the last page on a very satisfactory ending to POA just half an hour ago. I think what really helped was the simple language Rowling used in her books.  Her narrative style is uncomplicated, and it’s really quite a thrill to follow the adventures of young Potter and his bewitching friends so easily without having to look up the dictionary or the thesaurus. This is what makes her HP series so popular with the youngsters and the adults. This is also why it’s easier to concentrate on the plot development, no distractions or sidetracks to lure the reader away to other stories, and it helps that the pace of the first three books is snappy.

I so hate it when a story is dragged out by meaningless subplots, which is what makes this wizarding series so enjoyable, well thus far.

What’s so amazing is that Rowling has created an entire fantastical world yet managed to pitch it to the contemporary audience with some relevant direct or oblique modern day references – London, cars, trains, football, school, dentists, golf. I also liked that the world she’s created is mutli cultural and multi racial — am aware that this is politically correct, but I’m sure the author created such a world to drive home the point about magic having universal appeal.

Another thing I like about the series is how she rounds off past events in the opening chapter of each new sequel, and this makes each book stand of its own and yet be connected to the ones preceding it. Most series spot this trait, but what’s remarkable is how she managed to find three different ways to describe or reference Harry’s past without sounding like a broken record.

While reading Philosopher’s Stone and Chamber, my brain was busy picking up bits to fill into the movie scenes that are floating around on my mind.  Reading the books gave wings to the imagination that has already been vividly stirred by the movie, which can only be condense so much of 300+ pages into 2.5 hours. I can also appreciate why some of the scenes and lines have to be altered to accommodate the medium of expression that the books movies take. I’m going to mull over POA for a while tonight and talk about it in my next post.

As you can also see, I’ve added a link to Leakynews, officially declaring myself an over-age fan.  Movie 5 has justarted filming few weeks back, so I imagine the Harry fever is going to grip readers soon.

