Addicted to Harry Potter

This is bad. Having finished and posted my verdict on The Princess Bride, I picked up the first Harry Potter book (The Philosopher’s Stone) on a whim Saturday afternoon, and couldn’t put it down until I’ve finished it yesterday.

And then, I had to get started on The Chamber of Secrets right away, and am more than half way through now, stopping just to post about it.

HP and the Prisoner of Azkaban

A couple of my friends didn’t think J K Rowling was a good writer, but I think they were probably looking at it from a diffferent perspective. Sure, she doesn’t write prose that will go down in history as ingenious, or inspiriing.  But considering her audience, I think she’s done a marvellous job in conveying the sense of wonder in all things magic, and created a fantasy world that kids and those young at heart can appreciate, and perhaps relate to.

The style used in the Philosopher’s Stone may be simple narrative, and the language may not challenge the more sophisticated reader, but there is no question that her story-telling skills had me turning the pages faster than you can chant ‘Wingardium Leviosa’.

I think I now understand why this particular series has garnered such a fierce and loyal following. But enough of this now.  more when I’m done.  Got to get back to the Chamber.

3 thoughts on “Addicted to Harry Potter

  1. ag says:

    Heather, I think you’re right. She is a great story-teller. I’m almost done with Chamber, and am starting on POA next. She does keep you chasing the story doesn’t she?

    Keishon, I started with the movies first, then I thought I’d better get on with reading the books before OOTP movie comes along. Since you mentioned YA novels, have you tried any of the Artemis Fowl books? I’m thinking of getting back for my daughter … (looking a little sheepish) just so I could read them myself.

    geovisit();

  2. I love Harry Potter books and the movies. However, I started with book three and was hooked. I had the same snide remarks to make about the Harry Potter books but when I read them, I thought Rowling did an excellent job at entertaining me even though this book’s target is for young readers. The books get more complicated as you go along. I’ve since started reading and buying more YA novels and children’s book because if written well, they are worth reading regardless of age.

  3. I have a theory about JK Rowling and other authors. I’m addicted to Harry Potter, and as an author myself, it’s hard to find stories I can get lost in without analyzing and critiquing them. HP is one of the few that allows me that experience.

    No, she’s not a great writer. Neither am I. I don’t stress over prose or flowery language. What interests me is the story. So, my theory is that there are writers and there are story tellers. JK ROwling is the latter. Writers worry over words. Story tellers worry over story details.

    THat’s my .02

Comments are closed.