Responses to the Autobuy Question

Whoa, I didn’t think my questions would stir up such varied responses, but the views of Kristie, CindyS and Amanda made for very interesting reading.

Kristie revisited the discussion with another good question: what does it take to drop an autobuy author from that mental list she carries around? For her, too many books in a series is one of the main reasons. Whereas I tend to follow a series, just so I can get a closing. As Tara puts it – ‘dammit, I’ve gotten this far I expect to finish it. ‘ My sentiments exactly.

CindyS examined her past, present and future auto-buys and concluded that all that she needs is consistent characterization, romance, sexual tension, great sex and a plot.’ Hmm … tall order indeed. But very reasonable from a reader. She is also very forgiving and understanding when it comes to genre crossing. She declared that ‘an author can do something extremely harmful, for me, and one day get back into my good graces.’ I can certainly relate to that as I’m holding out for Julie Garwood to produce another phenomenal work like ‘Saving Grace’.

 

To Amanda, ‘characterization outweighs nearly all’. She could tolerate slow pacing, and loose plotting ‘as long as other factors keep (her) involved’. I’m also glad that she rates sexual tension and romance above the sex.

So, I guess we’ve sort of come full circle on the Autobuy question. In the end, a lot of that decision hinges on our emotional connection with the author, be it through the characters or the romantic tension between the hero and heroine.

Sometimes, sentimentality plays a part in my decision to put an author on my autobuy list. There are some authors whom I don’t consider autobuys but whom I return to after a while again because of past great reading experiences. And I do indulge in nostalgia now and then, by rereading past works of authors I loved but whom, for some reason or another, stopped after a while.

Tara’s post on The Laird brings back fond memories of my first Juliana Garnett encounter (with The Scotsman) and inspires me to hunt her down. She is one such author to me. Gosh, reading all these posts is bringing on maudlin thoughts … of reading Julie Garwood historicals, Lynn Kurland time travel romances and MZB’s Avalon series again. See what I mean by sentimentality?

3 thoughts on “Responses to the Autobuy Question

  1. ag says:

    Hi Amanda,

    I still read Jane Feather quite faithfully. And I hope one day she’ll amaze you.

    Hey Cindy,

    All the best! Hope you discover the new JG, JE and LKH! And when you do, spread the word! 🙂

  2. Oh yeah, I’m feeling sentimental.

    LKH in her hayday. Janet Evanovich when she brought the funny. Julie Garwood, humour, romance and good sex.

    Now, I look at my TBR pile and I don’t recognize half the authors but then, I’m hoping to find the new JG, JE and LKH!

    CindyS

  3. The first author that comes to mind re: the sentimentality issue is Jane Feather. I adored several of her older books, but the new ones? Not my cup of tea. I do keep picking her books up (& putting them down again) in hopes that they will recapture the magic, but alas, it has not been so.

Comments are closed.