January's TBR Challenge

Title: 44 Cranberry Point

Author: Debbie Macomber

Year published:2004

Why did you get this book?
It won the inaugural Quills Award (I spoke of that earlier), and curious about what the panel of judges sees in this book, I bought it.

 

Do you like the cover?
As covers go, this one’s okay. Nothing spectacular, just an innocuous looking cover that invokes the small-town romance feel of the book.

 

Did you enjoy the book?
It took me a couple of chapters to warm up to the story and the characters, but once I got into the story, I could see why the judges picked the book to be the winner. Debbie Macomber has always been known to favour ordinary women in small towns as heroines, and in this book, she has created several memorable characters, everyday Cedar Cove residents that readers can relate to. The women each have their hiccups in their relationships, something that’s very real to the modern woman, and therefore a plus point IMO.

 

I would have benefited from reading some of the earlier books in this Cedar Cove series, but the Cranberry Point stands quite well on its own too. However, there were some mysteries left unsolved and some relationship tangles to clean up, so I guess I’ll have to check out the next one, 50 Harbor Street to find out the fates of some of the characters I’ve grown fond of over the pages.

Was the author new to you and would you read something by this author again?
I’ve read Macomber’s Season of Angels, as I’ve mentioned in an earlier post, and quite enjoyed that book. This wholesome and heartwarming tale that looks into the lives of several smalltown heroines has piqued my interest about the other heroines, who appear as supporting characters in this book, so I may pick up some of her earlier instalments.

Are you keeping it or passing it on?
I wouldn’t mind passing this on to someone so he/ she can enjoy it too. I’m kind of biased when it comes to keeping books. I tend to keep historical more than contemporary books.

Anything else?
Something minor which bothers me is the tiny inconsistency in the address of the McAfees. The story lists it as 50 Harbor Street, which incidentally is also the title of the book after this, whereas the Cast of Characters page lists it as 5 Harbor Street.

BTW, the titles of previous books are also the addresses of the central character that each story is woven around, so go on and visit Cedar Cove to see if you like the residents.

I also realised, about two chapters in, that this book could also fit into May’s theme ‘cos this is a Navy town, and some of the characters are Navy personnel. The owner of the B&B in the town is a retired Viet veteran, as are the stranger who died mysteriously at the inn and the husband of one of the central characters, whose story is told in 204 Rosewood Lane.

3 thoughts on “January's TBR Challenge

  1. ag says:

    Hmm … I don’t normally like contemporary romances, so I was a little surprised that I enjoyed Cranberry Point.

    I think the small town seting helped a little.

  2. I tried a couple of Macomber books quite a few years ago and she just didn’t work for me. I can’t really figure out why not. I’ve been tempted to try her again but there are so many other books out there to read – any one I choose would have to have a lot of very good buzz.

Comments are closed.