Angie's TBR Challenge Update

It’s been a busy week at work, what with two newsletters to push out and a website to finish revamping to meet the end Jan deadline. I haven’t started on the book earmarked for January’s challenge, but I did have a good look at my TBR pile to find a match for each theme, and at the same time assess if I need to get those I haven’t a match for.

So, here’s what I’ve mapped out for the months ahead:
January: Contemporary Romance
44 Cranberry Point by Debbie Macomber

February: A book by a new-to-you author
Empress Orchid by Anchee Min
A friend passed this to me some months back, so it’s about time I finish reading it and return to her. However, I’m also very tempted to get some Liz Carlyle romances since I’ve never read her books. Let’s see if I can manage both … greedy me.

March: Historical Romance
It’s a toss-up between Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen (which I’ve started reading) or Some Enchanted Evening by Christina Dodd

Enchanting Lost Princesses  My Historical for March's TBR Challenge

April: A book that’s been on your TBR pile longer than 6 months
This has got to be The Princess Bride by William Goldman, it’s been on my shelf since last Feb because I kept getting diverted by new romance releases that I was tracking

April's TBR Challenge: The Princess Bride

May: In honor of Memorial Day; War, law enforcement, military type or something similar (even loosely related counts)
Haven’t found one for this yet so may have to ‘borrow’ from the library or my dh.

June: A book that was recommended by someone you “know” (another blogger, author, friend, family member) or got a lot of buzz and that’s why you bought it but it’s still on your TBR pile
I’ve heard so much about Tuesdays with Morrie and The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom, and since I received these as Christmas gifts from the same friend who lent me Empress Orchid, they are my natural choice.

Touched by Albom in June Tuesdays with Albom

July: Romantic Suspense
Option1: Lie By Moonlight by Amanda Quick
Option 2: Falling Awake by Jayne Ann Krentz
Option 3: A Julie Garwood or Elizabeth Thornton book I haven’t read yet.

August: A non-romance book, fiction or non-fiction
An Elegant Madness: High Society in Regency England by Venetia Murray
Been meaning to finish reading this for the longest time, so pray this time I won’t fail.

September: Category Romance
Either It Happened One Autumn or The Devil in Winter by Lisa Kleypas unless I get to these before September

October: Paranormal Romance or Fantasy
Am very tempted to attempt The Chronicles of Narnia omnibus by C. S. Lewis, another Christmas gift, but wonder if I’m going to end up killing myself finishing up, okay, trying to finish, all seven book. If I do chicken out of this mammoth undertaking it’ll be Teresa Medeiros’ sequel to After Midnight or an Anne Rice, whom I haven’t read in a long while. We shall see.

November: A book originally published as an e-book (even if you have it in print now
Am going to have to hunt for one

December: A book published prior to 2006
It’s going to be a toss-up between Madam, Will You Talk by Mary Stewart or Moonlight Becomes You by Mary Higgins Clark

Moonlight Becomes You and H.R.H  Held in Suspense by Mary Stewart

That’s the plan for now, but I’d better start on my first book for the challenge though. Six out of the 26 (six additional since my last post) participants have already finished their books and posted the reviews. Yikes!

11 thoughts on “Angie's TBR Challenge Update

  1. ag says:

    Hi Alyssa,

    Thanks! I’ve always relished a challenge, so Angie’s got me all fired up.

    I can’t say the same about the state of my closet or my room, though. 😦

  2. Goodness, Kristie’s right. You are organized. I thought I was doing pretty good to start deciding what I’d read for next month. I could sure use a dose of your organization . . .

  3. An Elegant Madness is a super-fun read! It’s on my keeper shelf. But make sure you also do a search on the internet — there’s a ton of discussion on the book and it’s accuracy.

  4. ag says:

    Gee thanks, Kristie.

    Jay … hmmm. Yeah, you’re right those are really really historical/ period books. Thanks for pointing that out.

    I guess Brenda Jackson, Judith McNaught and Nora Roberts write more of this category. You have a favourite?

  5. Not that I’m telling you what you can or can’t read 9 months in the future but are It Happened One Autumn or The Devil in Winter category books? I’ve always considered SIMs and HPs and the like to be categories.

  6. Wow – you are organized *grin* I still haven’t even found the *right* book for January yet. I’ve picked a couple up – looked at them and thought *meh*

Comments are closed.