Top 10 Picks of 2005

This post is for Kristie, who thought it’d be fun to reflect on her favourite books published this year. My choices would be:

 1. The Marriage Trap by Elizabeth Thornton

I’ve enjoyed her books since I picked up ‘The Bride’s Bodyguard’ and Thornton delivers the story brilliantly in this one.

 

 

Much Ado

2. Much Ado About You by Eloisa James

Eloisa just keeps getting better! And this debut of her sisters quartet is a keeper on my shelf.

 

 

 

3. Something About Emmaline by Elizabeth Boyle

There’s something about the heroine in this sparkling romantic comedy that kept me in stitches in some parts and had me in tears in others.

 

 

It's in His Kiss

 

4. It’s in His Kiss by Julia Quinn

Julia’s one of my fave of all time. I love her entire Bridgerton series and am eagerly anticipating Gregory’s story in ‘On the way to the Wedding’ due out this summer.

 

 

 

 

5. One Night of Sin by Gaelen Foley

Another hit by Galen Foley who had me hooked ever since the unforgettable proposal scene she wrote for Robert Hawkscliffe in ‘The Duke’ left me sighing from the sheer emotions and joy it brought.

 

 

6. Wait Until Midnight by Amanda Quick

This book quickly made its way to my reading list when I reacquainted myself with Amanda earlier this year. More about this in my next post.

 

 

 

After Midnight

 

 

7. After Midnight by Teresa Medeiros

Teresa reinvented the vampire tale and revived my interest in the supernatural romance genre. This midnight read brightened up one otherwise boring weekend for me. Hurrah for slayers!

 

 

8. Lord of Sin by Madeline Hunter

A sinfully delicious book which gave readers a peek into the world of lithographers and engravers. Madeline’s historicals are good investments anytime. Can’t wait for the story of Charlotte (Lady Marsden). I love sharp and witty heroines.

 

 

9. The Daughters of Freya by Michael Betcherman and David Diamond

This ingenious email mystery changed the way I view emails. I hope there’ll be a follow-up from the pair.

 

 

10. Murder List by Julie Garwood

Hardcore mystery fans may turn their noses up at this combination of romance and suspense, but I found that my heart did beat much faster with the unbearable tension, both between reluctant hero and heroine, and the psycho murderer and victim.

 

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Picks of 2005

  1. I looked at Walmart tonight for the Elizabeth Thorton book but they didn’t have it – nuts!! They should at a regular book store though so next trip – next trip. I’ve read most of your faves and enjoyed them – but oh dear, oh dear. Lord of Sin made my Turkey List – more though cause I’m still upset she’s not writing medievals anymore.

Comments are closed.