Back to earth

Barely 3 days after the glorious two-week vacation, first in the gorgeous Gold Coast of Australia, then in idyllic Bintan island, and I’m already suffering from withdrawal symptoms.

Took off with the family on the 29th last month to serene Tangalooma Resort on Moreton Island and beautiful Surfers’ Paradise for a much anticipated holiday. We had a lovely time sand tobogganing and getting close to the marine life before heading back to mainland on the evening of the 1st. Of course, we had to visit Movie World, the kids and the overgrown kid in me wouldn’t miss it for the world!! My daughter went twice on the Scooby Doo Spooky Coaster ride and the boy loved the Road Runner Roller Coaster although he admitted that it was a lil’ scary.

Our last two days were spent on the magnificent main beach, where I finally got the chance to catch up on some reading and finished ‘Shopaholic & Sister’ while admiring the sun imparting the sky with a purplish pink blush as it sank below the horizon.

Back from Australia, we left the kids in the good hands of their grandma and escaped to Bintan for a de-stress retreat. It was there that I read ‘Wait Until Midnight’ by Amanda Quick over meals and out on the quiet beach. But more on the books later …

It’s amazing how the setting really helps one to absorb the stories better. It was absolute bliss to be able to read uninterrupted until you’re ready to take a vision break.

I’d recommend reading on the beach anytime. I may be back on earth now, but my heart is still on that silky soft beach sighing at the perfect sunset over the coast and hugging another happy ending to myself. So it’s only fitting that I leave you with this verse about the therapeutic beauty of nature, which expresses how I felt just relaxing and reading on that beach:

Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in,
where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul.
~John Muir

