More about P&P

I couldn’t help surfing the web for more news of the Pride & Prejudice’ movie, which has been receiving mixed reviews.

For example, here’s a pretty good plug on P&P3 by film critic John Hartl on MSNBC:

so this ‘Pride and Prejudice’ has a shot at becoming the most successful theatrical version in 65 years. It’s far from definitive, and Austen fans may quibble with the speed with which it deals with Elizabeth’s sisters. But thanks to Macfadyen and Knightley, the love story clicks.

Over at the Austen Blog, the Editrix has mixed feelings about P&P3 though:

We came to the conclusion that it wasn’t too bad as long as they stuck to Jane’s words –even with the necessary plot contractions. But as soon as they put in someone else’s words, it became trite, insipid, cringe-worthy. Several important, emotional scenes were utterly ruined for us by these digressions.

More about P&P

But they dig the ‘Bride & Prejudice’ Bollywood treatment of Austen, which I enjoyed tremendously — I watched it twice on the big screen, and once on video.

… we think Jane Austen would have approved of this reimagining of her classic story. Trust us: the rhythm IS going to get you!

I happen to be a BIG fan of Ashwarya, so I’m gonna trust their balanced opinion of P&P3 and take it in the context of romantic fun and pure entertainment without the literary hang-ups. Admit it, which movie adaptation of a famous novel have you known to mirror the book religiously?

I rest my case.

“I cannot fix on the hour, or the spot, or the look, or the words, which laid the foundation. It is too long ago. I was in the middle before I knew that I had begun.” ~ Darcy to Lizzie, on falling in love with her

One thought on “More about P&P

Comments are closed.