And the list goes on …

Had to curb myself from embarking on a book buying spree when I walked past a book fair last Sunday. It’s one of the temptations I face every weekend after dropping the kids off to their art classes. And I’m not only talking about shopping ! The urge to borrow more books than I can possibly finish within a 3-week period from the local library is even greater than shopping for new clothes.

I have to always check myself by conjuring an image of my bookshelf cramped with the many unread books I’ve acquired in the last six months. (And that’s one of the reasons why I started bookcrossing … to make space on my bookshelf for newer books.) But I could never help hearing a little whisper in my heart telling me to ‘go get them’ whenever I see a book by a favourite author.

So on Sunday, I ended up offering congratulations to myself on acquiring these gems at the fair:
Madam, Will You Talk by Mary Stewart
Moonlight Becomes You by Mary Higgins Clark
I Thee Wed by Amanda Quick

and two others on my reading list rented from a second hand bookshop: Some Enchanted Evening and My Fair Temptress, both by Christina Dodd.

Well, as Mary Stewart has so wisely said,

It is harder to kill a whisper than even a shouted calumny.

So, why do I even try to resist? When it comes to books, I’m putty in the hands of booksellers and publishers. Until the next post then.

One thought on “And the list goes on …

Comments are closed.