My Top 10 Lists

This entry’s for Mark who dropped in with a request for a top ten list of books read, five posts ago. I’ve separated my favourite ten books of all time from my list of top 10 romance novels read, and here they are:

Top 10 Books Read:

  1. The Song of Troy by Colleen McCullough
  2. The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley
    I went on to read The Priestess of Avalon and Lady of Avalon
  3. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  4. The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy – it remains one of my favourite series since I first read them in my early teens
  5. The Mammoth Hunters by Jean M Auel – part of another series I’ve been following
  6. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte – it’s one of the most intense novels ever written by an author
  7. Kingdom of Gold by Susan Wiggs – I’ve listed this here as it has a focus on historical events than romance
  8. Lady of the Forest by Marion Zimmer Bradley
  9. War & Peace by Leo Tolstoy
    I read this in my teens, reread in my 20s, so it’s about time I read it again. I finally got around to watching the movie starring Audrey Hepburn – she is ever so ethereal – on video recently.
  10. All Creatures Great & Small by James Herriot
    In fact I love all four of them (the other three are: All Things Bright & Beautiful, All Things Wise & Wonderful, and The Lord God Made Them All)

    My Historical for March's TBR Challenge   Waylaid by The Scarlet Pimpernel

Top Ten Romance read:

  1. By Arrangement by Madeline Hunter
  2. Somewhere I’ll Find You by Lisa Keyplas
  3. The Duke by Gaelen Foley
  4. The entire Bridgerton series by Julia Quinn
  5. Something About Emmaline by Elizabeth Boyle
  6. Saving Grace by Julie Garwood
  7. The Pride of Lions by Marsha Canham
  8. The Bride’s Bodyguard by Elizabeth Thornton
  9. Potent Pleasures by Eloisa James – ties with Much Ado About You
  10. Shopaholic Takes Manhattan by Sophie Kinsella

    Traipsing down memory lane  Bingeing on Elizabeth ThorntonOf Pride and Blood  Bring Back the Mad-ness

Ten All-time Favourite Authors:

  1. Marion Zimmer Bradley
  2. Jane Austen
  3. Baroness Orczy
  4. L M Montgomery
  5. Jean M Auel
  6. Roald Dahl
  7. Enid Blyton
  8. Mary Stewart
  9. Louisa May Alcott
  10. Robin Cook -the medical thrillers are killers!

I had initially drawn up a list of fave romance writers, but the list came to more than 20, so I decided to scrap that. My entire blog so far is mainly about their books, so you can already get a pretty good hint of who my favourites are.

Noticed that some of my all-time favourites are classics that I keep returning to? Well, that’s because

When you re-read a classic you do not see in the book more than you did before. You see more in you than there was before. ~Clifton Fadiman

The test of real literature is that it will bear repetition. We read over the same pages again and again, and always with fresh delight. ~Samual McChord Crothers

You can get more quotes on Books and reading from The Quote Garden.

One thought on “My Top 10 Lists

Comments are closed.