Too many books, too little time …

I’ve been so sleep deprived I’ve ignored this blog this past week. I wish it were all from reading the new books I’ve acquired, but no, it’s also the punishing daily schedule since the school term started on Monday.

It’s a 6.30am morning call for my daughter followed by the mad rush to get her ready for her ride with a neighbour to her daycare before rushing off to work, which doesn’t finish for me until about 8pm … or later. After dashing home to wolf down dinner and shower, it’s time to settle in for a good read around 10.30pm or later.

I felt so guilty for making it home in time for their bedtime reading only thrice this week that I took them to the library this afternoon. Our last visit was more than a month ago. We had such a lovely time that I made a mental note to bring them back again soon.

On the brighter side, the week saw me acquiring quite a number of books on my wishlist (the other contributing factor for my sleep deprivation) :
Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic & Sister,
Madeline Hunter’s Lord of Sin,
Amanda Quick’s The Paid Companion, (Amanda Quick is the pseudonym of Jayne Anne Krentz)
Lisa Kleypas’ Secrets of a Summer Night (the first book in her new Wallflower series),
Julie Garwood’s Murder List
(Side note: visit Sophie Kinsella’s and Lisa Kleypas’ websites for some fun quiz related to their books above!)

I’m also on a personal quest to revisit some of my favourite classical authors, starting with Jane Austen, and choose Northanger Abbey and Emma – two of her later works – to begin this enjoyable journey.

Unfortunately, the local bookstore has not stocked up on Julia Quinn’s It’s in His Kiss — the 7th instalment in the Bridgerton family series that I’ve been faithfully following. Looks like a longer wait is in order, but that’s fine now that I have new stuff to read.

Am also thrilled with ‘The Daughters of Freya’, an ebook created by Michael Betcherman and David Diamond which arrives in your inbox daily upon purchase, that I’ve signed up for during the week … yet another reason for the lack of sleep. Promise to report on that for those who’re curious.

Now, to finish those books …

And if tonight my soul may find her peace
in sleep, and sink in good oblivion,
and in the morning wake like a new-opened flower
then I have been dipped again in God, and new-created.
~D.H. Lawrence

