Who says Seuss is only for kids?

One of my favourite activities of the day is bedtime reading with my kids. That’s the time when I can wind down and enjoy a good story or two with them. We laugh, we bond over silly stories and they get to take happy memories to bed too.

I must thank one of my ex-bosses for introducing my daughter to Seuss. Her first encounter with ‘One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish Blue Fish’ was a hit. I guess she was tickled by the funny rhyming prose and outlandish tales of make-believe creatures like the seven-hump wump, the zeds, the gox and other marvellous creations of Seuss.

From there, we progress to ‘The Cat in the Hat’, which comes with a CD-Rom ‘Living Book’, ‘The Lorax’, ‘Horton Hatches the Egg’, ‘There’s a Wocket in my Pocket’, ‘Yertle the Turtle, ‘How the Grinch Stole Christmas’, ‘The Buttle Battle Book’, ‘And to think that I saw it on Mulberry Street’ and many other delightful books. And along with her, I enjoyed the incredibly entertaining stories and relived my childhood once again as I read aloud to her and her little brother … boy, those rhymes can be quite a tongue-twisting challenge some times.

I’m trying to get my son, who’s just starting on a dramatic reading programme in school, to explore the interactive CD-Roms (Seussville is a good site to get them going on fun games – see link below) more often . Recently, we even managed to watch the animated ‘Daisy-head Mayzie’, and Horton on video together. Of course, elephants being his favourite animal, no prizes for guessing which is his favourite Seuss character. I’m hopeful that he will get to l ike Seuss as much as his sister, and mummy. Nadia has since moved on to Enid Blyton, whom she reads on her own, but she does enjoy hearing Seuss read to her now and then.

If you would like to introduce Dr. Seuss to your young ones at home, here are some links to get you started:

The Dr. Seuss Web Page
http://www.seuss.org/seuss/seuss.home.html

Seussville – has a whole catalog of books, games, audio books that you can try.
http://www.seussville.com/

Learn all about Dr. Seuss too in Cat in the Hat [dot] org and of course, find his books on the site of Random House, the publisher with the most comprehensive range of Seuss books in my opinion. If there’s one great Seuss compilation you’ve to get, I recommend ‘A Hatful of Seuss’ and the hardcover ‘Six by Seuss’, both published by Random House. The latter is a collector’s item and I can’t find that on the publisher’s website.

Oh, the places you’ll go and the thinks you can think … once you get started on Seuss. Have fun!

To quote Horton,

“I meant what I said
And I said what I meant …
An elephan’ts faithful
One hundred per cent!”

One thought on “Who says Seuss is only for kids?

  1. Hey AG, this is VT. Glad to have met you at the conference. This is a really great blog. Wanted to add that I too loved Dr Seuss. As a child, my favourite books were Green Eggs and Ham, and A Fly Went By.

Comments are closed.