Can you keep a Secret?

Have just finished the delightful ‘shopaholic’ series by Sophie Kinsella last month, and couldn’t resist picking up her latest — Can you keep a secret? — and finishing it over 3 nights last week.

Yeah, it was that good a page-turner. In the words of Jack Harper, the romantic hero, I was ‘gripped’. (Brief synop: the book’s heroine, Emma, spilled her deep, dark secrets to a stranger on a plane who turned out to be, horror of horrors, her company’s enigmatic and reclusive head honcho who’d decided to spot check the company’s operations in London after a few years of remote control management.)

Won’t give away the rest of the plot here, but for fans of the Shopaholic series, you’ll love the author’s wicked humour and the main character’s comical timing. Like Becky the shopaholic, Emma got embroiled in a PR fiasco, but the situation was eventually resolved (or rather, it turned out to be not quite disastrous in the end). So, romance fans will be gratified with the ‘Cinderella’ happy ending.

Both heroines are highly creative, spunky girls in their mid-20s just starting off on their careers, so they do make some mistakes while searching for a break in life. They’re both fiercely loyal in their love. However, I find Becky more endearing. By the way, if you’re planning to read the Shopaholics series, don’t make the same mistake I did. Two of the novels in the series are also sold as a different title in some countries. ‘The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic’ is also released as ‘Confessions of a Shopaholic’ in some countries while ‘Shopaholic Abroad’ and ‘Shopaholic Takes Manhattan’ both relate Becky’s adventures in Manhattan. The latter is my favourite instalment in the series.

Even Daily Candy, the super cool daily enews and ultimate online guide to what’s hot, hip and happening in some of the most fashionable cities in the world, received honorable mention in it. If you’re not already subscribed, go sign up for the email. I simply lurrrve the illustrations.

I’m waiting to get my hands on a copy of ‘Shopaholic and Sister’ – the next in the series. All her books are written in the first person, btw, and I find that this allows me to relate to the heroine’s experience on a personal level. I don’t know about you, but I’m hooked on book series … they just keep you hanging on, don’t they?

We do not love people so much for the good they have done us, as for the good we have done them. – Leo Tolstoy (1828 -1910)

2 thoughts on “Can you keep a Secret?

  1. ag says:

    Hey Kel,

    Have you read the Undomestic Goddess yet? I haven’t but am tempted to. Shopaholic and Sister is even goofier.

  2. Kel says:

    I love Sophie Kinsella and this book. Shopaholic… I love to read them, but Becky drives me crazy with the shopping and the lying… I’m not good with tension, haha!
    I love this book… Kinsella’s characters are so energetic and cool.

Comments are closed.